Drunken Cupcakes

Was your Valentine’s Day a little rough? Need to drown your sorrows? Put on your apron and make these Drunken Cherry Cupcakes! I’ve been eyeing this recipe since I flipped through the Betty’s Betties Calendar. This calendar features staff from the Betty’s Family of Restaurants and some seriously delicious recipes.

These were made as a special birthday treat. First, some confessions while shopping for ingredients. I was not entirely sure what maraschino cherries were. Yep, embarrassing. I thought they came in a jar, but I checked the produce and baking sections just to be safe. I was ready to ask a random shopper when they appeared in front of me with the ice cream toppings. Next Confession: While checking out I felt judged for buying whiskey, which is ridiculous, I know–but I still felt it necessary to detail exactly why I was buying whiskey to the cashier. I like to over-share.

Dry Ingredients
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt


Wet Ingredients
2 large eggs
1 egg white
1/2 cup buttermilk
1 cup vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups whiskey
2 1/2 cups maraschino cherries

1. Soak cherries in 2 cups of whiskey in 2 cups of whiskey in fridge for two hours. Strain and chop cherries. Set the whiskey aside.

2. Preheat oven to 350.
3. Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Set aside.
4. Beat eggs and egg white until lightly frothy. Add buttermilk, vegetable oil, vanilla and 1/2 cup of remaining whiskey and mix until combined.
5. Mix in dry ingredients slowly until batter is even consistency. Add cherries.


6. Fill cupcake pan with liners and fill 3/4 with batter.
7. Bake at 350 for 20-22 minutes.


The next step is to add icing once the cupcakes have cooled. I’m not usually a fan of frosting but I wanted to give it a go. Disaster. Homemade chocolate buttercream frosting is quite the task. My entire kitchen was left with a coating of cocoa powder and powered sugar. The hand mixer and I were not friends. The end result was somehow tasty but my disastrous methods leave me no words of wisdom to pass on. It did, however, inspire me to purchase a stand mixer. More and hopefully, less messy baking ahead! Have you experienced a kitchen disaster?

Leave a Reply

