Father’s Day Cake Balls

Like most dads, mine has a sweet tooth and is always happy to try my new baking creations. Payment for looking after my car and various handyman projects usually comes in the form of sugar from me. A few weeks before Father’s Day, hints for the need of cake pops were dropped.

As I’ve mentioned before, this whole cake pop craze rejuvenated my love of baking. A few years ago I made my first batch of cake balls for New Years Eve…

Not bad, right?

I soon realized cake pops were much easier when it came to getting rid of the excess coating and decorating.

Oh, how the mighty have fallen.

Out of sticks, I decided to do cake balls for Father’s Day. I even thought of making them look like golf balls. Well, fast forward to Friday night at 9 p.m. after a couple of crazy weeks and this is the mess I created:

I found myself hating the process with little patience. Luckily, my family didn’t really notice and boasted that they were the best flavor combination yet. I used vanilla cake, chocolate frosting and a white chocolate coating.

You’re can’t win them all. The important thing is they were delicious. Note to future self: don’t take on a tedious baking project the night before facing a 15 hour work day.

Leave a Reply

