Hello, Summer

Aren’t we all in disbelief that it is now June? Seriously, how did that happen? Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad it’s summer and ready for all that it brings: cookouts, cute dresses, weddings, vacation, flowers and vegetables from my garden.

This month my kitchen chalkboard has some wisdom from Queen Tina Fey. There are so many great things to do this time of year, I’m just going to say yes as often as possible.

Wisdom from Tina Fey

With the warmer temps, baking gets harder as I’m less inclined to turn on the oven. Sunday I was all set to make cookies but the AC went bust. I went ahead and made the dough and refrigerated it. Thankfully I was able to borrow a friend’s kitchen Monday night to try out a new recipe, Chocolate Raspberry cookies!

Chocolate Raspberry Cookies

We tried out a few different baking times and 12 minutes seemed to be the perfect amount of time, but I still want to do some tweaking. They are a little chewier than I prefer my cookies, but I decided they are perfect for ice cream sandwiches…and I just so happened to have some Jeni’s Brambleberry Crisp in my freezer!

Chocolate Raspberry Ice Cream Sandwich

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When life gives you chewy cookies and broken AC…make ice cream sandwiches!

What are you looking forward to this summer?

Leave a comment